The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Cawston named new tribal chairman


Newly elected members of the Colville Business Council take the oath of office at the Lucy Covington Government Center in Nespelem on July 12. From left are Janet Nicholson, Marvin Kheel, Margie Hutchinson, Richard Moses, Andrea George, Joe Somday, and Richard Swan. - Justus Caudell, Tribal Tribune photo

Rodney Cawston was named the new chairman of the Colville Business Council July 12 after a ceremony in which seven recently elected council members were sworn into office and positions were assigned to the 14 members of the CBC.

At the Lucy Covington Government Center near Nespelem Thursday morning, the oath of office ceremony started with traditional native American songs and drumming, and a prayer from Cawston.

Six out of the seven recently elected CBC members are new, with only Joseph Somday, representing the Keller district, winning his re-election bid. New members include Margie Hutc...

For access to this article please sign in or subscribe.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments