The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Final vote count for tribal elections announced


The official vote counts for the June 16 general election for the Colville Business Council, including the absentee ballots that were announced June 28, with several incumbents voted out, including the current chairman of the council, which governs the Colville Tribes.

In the Omak District Position 2 race, Margie Hutchinson won the election with 391-253 votes over the current council chairman, Michael E. Marchand.

In the Nespelem District Position 1 race, Janet (Wak Wak) Nicholson’s won 428-390 over Jarred-Michael Erickson.

In the Nespelem District Position 2 race, Andrea George won 334-303 over Darnell Sam.

In the Inchelium District Position 1 race, Marvin Kheel prevailed 310-200 over Dayna J. Seymour.

In the Inchelium District Position 2 race, Richard A. Swan Sr. won 265 votes over incumbent Larry K. Allen’s 247.

In the Keller District Position 1 race, incumbent Joseph L. Somday won 124-78 over challenger Darlene Zacherle.

In the Omak District Position 1 race, Richard Moses won 364-271 over incumbent Edwin L. Marchand.

There are 14 positions total for the council, with seven up for re-election each year.

There are four positions each in the Inchelium, Nespelem, and Omak districts, and two positions in the Keller district.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019

Rendered 05/18/2020 23:30