The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Coulee Dam must hold primary election in August


Last updated 5/31/2017 at 3:55pm

Only one office in the coulee area will require a primary runoff to see who makes it to the general election Nov. 7.

Three people have filed for Position 3 on the Coulee Dam Town Council, requiring the runoff election. In all other races, candidates will automatically move to the general election Nov. 7.

Bruce Bartoo, Timothy Brooks and Marcia Warnecke each filed for the same council seat in Coulee Dam last Friday, which will bring on a primary election to select the top two on Aug. 1.

Others who have filed for Coulee Dam council are David Schmidt and Fred Netzel for position 1; and Bob Poch, former councilman, for position 2.

Gayle Swagerty, who is currently on the council, is vacating her seat to run for mayor against Larry Price.

In Hospital District 6, two veteran commissioners, Jerry Kennedy and Geary Oliver, have both refiled for six-year terms, unopposed.

In Elmer City, Gail Morin has filed to return for another four years as mayor.

In council races, Joaquin Marchand has re-filed for position 1; Clara Carson has filed to continue in position 3. No one has filed for the seat now held by Larry Holford.

There are no challengers for the four Nespelem School board positions. Anna M. Vargas has filed for Position 1; Jolene Marchand has filed for Position 3; Mitzi Adolph has filed for Position 4; and Nancy Armstrong-Montes has filed for position 5. All are for four years.

In Grand Coulee Dam School District races, two of the four seats are being challenged.

In director District 1, incumbent Carla Marconi will be challenged by Tammy James-Pino; Ken Stanger has filed to return to District 2; George LaPlace has filed to return to the District 3 seat; and Kelly Steffens is challenging incumbent Richard Black for the District 5 seat. LaPlace is running for the two-year slot, all others are for four years.

Leonard Sanders III has filed for the six-year term for the seat now held by Jerry Sands on the Grant County Port District 7. Sands stated he didn’t plan to seek re-election.

In Electric City, Aaron Derr has re-filed for a four-year term on the city council; and the seat held by Jeremy Miller will become vacant at the end of the year. Even though Miller didn’t file, he will hold the office to fill out his term.

Gary Rosco has filed to return for a six-year term on Grand County Fire District 14.

For Grand Coulee City Council, three incumbents have refiled: Tammara Byers for Position 1; Tom Poplawski, Position 2; and Mike Horne for Position 4. All are four-year terms.

In the Coulee Area Park & Recreation District, no one filed for the four positions open. District President Bob Valen said Grant County election officials told him there would be a special filing period set up for June 19-21 in that county.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019