The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Tribal council reorganizes


Newly elected Colville Business Council members were sworn into office Wednesday during the annual ceremony at the Colville Tribes’ center of government near Nespelem, the CBC announced.

Council Members Sheilah Cleveland, Larry Allen, Georgia Simpson and William Womer were officially sworn in. Reelected council members are: Michael Marchand, Edwin Marchand and Joseph Somday, who will be working along with seated members: Ricky Gabriel, Jack Ferguson, Susie Allen, Bessie Simpson, Mel Tonasket, Andy Joseph Jr., and Richard Tonasket.

The council appointed Michael Marchand chairman. Mel Tonasket will serve as the vice chairman, Bessie Simpson as secretary, Andy Joseph Jr., as the Nespelem representative to the Executive Committee and Jack Ferguson was reappointed as the Keller representative.

The remaining chairs for each council committee were assigned to the 14-member council as follows:

• Health and Human Service, Andy Joseph Jr,.

• Management and Budget, Jack Ferguson.

• Tribal Government, Richard Tonasket

• Employment and Education, Larry Allen.

• Natural Resources, Joe Somday

• Culture Committee, Bessie Simpson

• Community Development, Willie Womer

• Veterans Committee, Larry Allen

• Law and Justice, Sheilah Cleveland.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments

Rendered 04/14/2019 08:24