The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Candidates listed in tribal primary


Twenty-eight contenders have filed for seven positions in the Colville Business Council primary election May 7.

The top two candidates for each position will advance to the tribal general election on June 18.

Six of the seven incumbents have filed for re-election.

Councilmember Nancy Johnson, who now holds the Position 2 seat in the Nespelem District, did not file for re-election.

For that wide-open Nespelem District Position 2, five candidates have filed: Charlene E. Bearcub, Cory Christman, Sheilah Cleveland, Joaquin J. Marchand and Brian Nissen.

In the Nespelem District Position 1 race, three candidates have filed for the seat held by incumbent William “Billy” Nicholson II. They are Amelia (Moses) Marchand, Clarita A. Vargas and Willie Womer.

In the Keller District, Billie Jo Bray and Kelly Jerred are challenging incumbent Joseph L. Somday.

In Inchelium District Position 1, three contenders have filed for the seat held by incumbent Jim Boyd, the current chair. Challenging Boyd are Sarah J. Finley, Douglas J. Seymour and Georgia Simpson.

Marvin Kheel, incumbent in Inchelium District Position 2, is being challenged by Larry K. Allen, James Esquivel, Stevey Seymour and Cary L. Rosenbaum Sr.

In the Omak District, Gene Allen and Darlene Burke are challenging incumbent Edwin L. Marchand for the Position 1 seat. Richard Allen, Karen Condon and Anne Marchand are challenging incumbent Michael E. Marchand for Position 2.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments

Rendered 01/12/2019 05:24