Tribal primary results narrow each race down to two candidates


Last updated 5/14/2021 at 7:01am

With poll and absentee votes both now certified, twenty-six candidates have been narrowed down to 14 in the primary for seven seats on the Colville Business Council, with only one incumbent knocked out of the running.

There are seven out of 14 total positions up for election to the Colville Business Council, the governing body of the Colville Tribes. 

Primary polls opened May 8, with poll votes certified on May 10, and absentee votes were certified May 13.

The top two candidates in each race will move on to the general election June 19 with those votes certified on June 24.

Running for the Nespelem District’s Position #1, the top two candidates are incumbent Rodney Cawston, the current CBC chair, who received 262 votes; and Dr. Alison Boyd-Ball, who received the most votes with 318. The other candidate, Lily “Teen” Stanger, received 139. 

Running for Nespelem District Position #2, the top two candidates are incumbent Jarred-Michael Erickson, who received 178 votes; and Randy Friedlander, who received 136 votes. Other candidates included: Charlene Bearcub, who received 134 votes; Darnell Sam, 130; Justin Boyd, 50; Deidre Ellsworth, 43; Daniel Nanamkin, 34; and John St. Pierre, 24.

In the race for Inchelium District Position #1, the top two candidates are Tyler Zacherle-Boyd, who received 153 votes; and Michael Finley, with 144. Other candidates included: incumbent Joel Boyd, who received 71 votes; and Allen Hammond, 88.

In the Inchelium District Position #2 race, the top two candidates are incumbent Roger Finley, who received 198 votes; and Chrystal Pakootas, with 179. Doug Seymour received 84 votes. 

In the Omak District, running for Position #1, the top two candidates are incumbent Norma Sanchez, who received 288 votes;  and Jim Nanamkin, with 164. Shirley Charley received 119. 

Running for Position #2 in the Omak District, the top two candidates are incumbent Karen Condon, who received 189 votes; and Preston Boyd, who received 140. Other candidates included: Michael Marchand, with 137 votes; Larry Smith, 88; and Launa Squetimkin, 22. 

The Keller District didn’t need a primary as it has just two candidates. Incumbent Jack Ferguson and Edward Cohen will face off in the general election in June.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2024