The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Candidates file to seek office

Friday last day to file


Last updated 5/15/2013 at 8:31am

Candidates for upcoming elections are filing for positions on school boards, city councils, hospital boards and some junior taxing districts this week.

In early filings, three have filed for positions in Hospital District 6. These include two incumbents, Kristen Hare and Jerry L. Kennedy. Betty Brueske has filed for a six-year short and full term on the local commission, which has one vacancy.

John Nordine II, has filed for a four-year term on the Electric City council, a position he now holds.

In Elmer City, Gail Morin, who is currently on the council, has filed for the mayor’s position.

In Coulee Dam, a race is on for the mayorship, between community activist Greg Wilder and current Mayor Quincy Snow.

Duane Johnson has filed for council position three in Coulee Dam for the seat currently held by Andy Trader.

Retired teacher Nancy J. Armstrong-Montes has filed for the school board in Nespelem.

Primary filings for offices ends Friday.

Positions up for election this year are:

Four mayor positions are up for election this year. Those mayorships currently held by mayors Jerry Sands of Electric City, Quincy Snow of Coulee Dam, Mary Jo Carey of Elmer City and Brian Nanamkin of Nespelem are all up this year, all four-year terms.

Council openings in Electric City and their terms include seats currently held by Bob Rupe (4 years), John Nordine (4-year term), Brad Parrish (2-year unexpired term) and Lonna Bussert (2-year unexpired term).

Council openings in Grand Coulee include positions held by Tammara Byers (4-year short and full term), Tim Alling (4-year term), and Erin Nielsen (2-year unexpired term).

In Coulee Dam, three council members are up for election. They are Bob Poch (4-year term), Karl Hjorten (4-year term) and Andy Trader (4-year term).

Four council members are up in Elmer City: Jeff DeWinkler (4-year term), Gail Morin (4-year short and full term), Donna DeWinkler (4-year short and full term) and Larry Holford (2-year unexpired term).

Four council members are up in Nespelem. They are Darcy Epperson’s position 1 (4-year term), Dennis Montes’ postion 2 (4-year short and full term), Dawn Ensminger’s position 3 (4-year term) and Kathy Womer’s postion 4 (4-year short and full term).

Grand Coulee Dam School District has two board member positions up for election and Nespelem School Distirct has three.

At Grand Coulee Dam district, Carla Marconi’s seat (4-year term) and Ken Stanger’s (4-year term) are both up for election. At Nespelem School, Jolene Marchand (4-year term), Jeannie Moon (4-year term) and Andy Joseph, Jr. (4-year term) are up this year.

Coulee Area Parks & Recreation has three openings. Up for election are seats held by Carla Marconi (2-year unexpired term), Clarice Michel Kuehne (4-year term) and Michael Bjorklund (4-year term).

In Grant, Douglas, Lincoln, Okanogan County Hospital District 6, there are three openings. Up for re-election are Kristen Hare (6-year term) and Jerry Kennedy (4-year unexpired term).,and Position 5 (6-year unexpired term) currently unfilled.


Reader Comments


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2019