The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Many local elections coming this year

Story corrected with correct names for town of Nespelem positions


Last updated 3/18/2013 at 11:37am

So you always wanted to hold public office.

Here’s your opportunity, as a host of city council, school board, hospital and port district offices will be up for grabs this year.

Four mayor positions are up for election this year. Those mayorships currently held by mayors Jerry Sands of Electric City, Quincy Snow of Coulee Dam, Mary Jo Carey of Elmer City and Michael Blake of Nespelem are all up this year, all four-year terms.

Council openings in Electric City and their terms include seats currently held by Bob Rupe (4 years), John Nordine (4-year term), Brad Parrish (2-year unexpired term) and Lonna Bussert (2-year unexpired term).

Council openings in Grand Coulee include positions held by Tammara Byers (4-year short and full term), Tim Alling (4-year term), and Erin Nielsen (2-year unexpired term).

In Coulee Dam, three council members are up for election. They are Bob Poch (4-year term), Karl Hjorten (4-year term) and Andy Trader (4-year term).

Four council members are up in Elmer City: Jeff DeWinkler (4-year term), Gail Morin (4-year short and full term), Donna DeWinkler (4-year short and full term) and Larry Holford (2-year unexpired term).

Four council members are up in Nespelem. They are Brian Nanamkin (4-year term), Darcy Epperson (4-year term), Dennis Montes (2-year unexpired term), Dawn Ensminger (4-year term) and Kathy Womer (2-year unexpired term).

Grand Coulee Dam School District has two board member positions up for election and Nespelem School Distirct has three.

At Grand Coulee Dam district, Carla Marconi’s seat (4-year term) and Ken Stanger’s (4-year term) are both up for election. At Nespelem School, Jolene Marchand (4-year term), Jeannie Moon (4-year term) and Andy Joseph, Jr. (4-year term) are up this year.

Coulee Area Park & Recreation has three openings. Up for election are seats held by Carla Marconi (2-year unexpired term), Clarice Michel Kuehne (4-year term) and Michael Bjorklund (4-year term).

In Grant, Douglas, Lincoln, Okanogan County Hospital District 6, there are three openings. Up for re-election are Kristen Hare (6-year term) and Jerry Kennedy (4-year unexpired term).,and Position 5 (6-year unexpired term) currently unfilled.

The filing period is May 13-17. Information on filings can be obtained through the auditor’s office in the county where the openings are occurring.


Reader Comments(0)


Powered by ROAR Online Publication Software from Lions Light Corporation
© Copyright 2021

Rendered 08/18/2022 20:58