The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Tribal voters elect four new council members, return three


The Colville Business Council will have four new members as a result of the tribal general election last week.

The election was held June 15, and absentee ballots were received until Thursday last week.

Newcomers to the Business Council will be Stevey Seymour, Jack W., Ferguson, Ricky Gabriel and Allen (Charley) Hammond.

Seymour, in the Inchelium Position 1 race, beat out David T. Madera, 220-146.

Ferguson, in the Keller District Position 1 contest, defeated John F. Stensgar, 107-98.

Ricky Gabriel, in the Nespelem District Position 1 race, narrowly defeated Deb Louie, 328-322.

Hammond, in the Inchelium District 2 race, beat Lou Stone, 238-136.

In other races, the incumbents won back their seats.

Ernest “Sneena” Brooks won another term in Omak District Position 1, by defeating Shirley K. Charley, 388-252.

Andy Joseph, Jr., will continue to represent Nespelem District in position 2, having defeated Enid T. Wippel, 387-266.

And Benny Marchand, Jr., the incumbent, narrowly held on to his council seat by defeating Michael E. Marchand, 327-322.

The Colville Business Council is made up of 14 members who serve two-year terms. Half of the council is up before voters each year.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments