Two ousted in tribal primary


Two sitting Colville Business Council members were voted out in the tribal primary election held May 5, not receiving enough votes to make it to the general election. The election was certified Thursday.

Losing their seats were Sylvia Tatshama Peasley, Keller District Pos. 1; and Ernie A. Williams, Omak District Pos. 2.

And it appears that some additional council members may have a difficult time hanging on to their seats in the June 16 general election.

Harvey Moses, Jr., in the Nespelem District Pos. 1 race, trails challenger William “Billy” Nicholson II, 232-144. Doug Seymour, in the Inchelium District 1 race, trails challenger Jim Boyd, 138-99. And Aaron “Scarbo” Marchand, Omak District Pos. 1, trails challenger Nancy “Lynn” Palmanteer-Holder, 406-167.

All primary “poll” and “absentee” ballots have been counted and the top two vote getters advance to the general election, June 16.

Vote results:

Inchelium District Pos. 1: Doug Seymour, incumbent, 99; Jim Boyd, 138; and David R. Finley, 19. Seymour and Boyd made it to the general election.

Keller District Pos. 1: Sylvia Tatshama Peasley, incumbent, 34; Jack W. Ferguson, 61; Vern F. Kheel, 17; Joseph L. Somday, 85; Henry Stensgar 3; and Edie Van Slyke, 19. Somday and Ferguson will be on the general ballot.

Nespelem District Pos. 1: Incumbent Harvey Moses, Jr., 144; Jonnie L. Bray, 95; Milton “Jewie” Davis, Jr., 79; William “Billy” Nicholson II, 232; and Tun-chis-Li-wit Mylan Williams, Sr., 37. Moses and Nicholson compete in the general election.

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Omak District Pos. 1: Aaron “Scarbo” Marchand, 167; Nancy “Lynn” Palmanteer-Holder, 406; and Darryl W. Peterson, 81. Marchand and Palmanteer-Holder face off in the general election.

Nespelem District Pos. 2: Incumbent Ricky Gabriel, 171; Larry Holford, 87; Nancy C. Johnson, 190; Rita Seward-Martin, 38; and Patrick J. Tonasket, 92. Gabriel and Johnson will be on the June 16 ballot.

Omak District Pos. 2: Incumbent Ernie A.Williams, 125; Shirley K. Charley, 74; Ben E. Marchand, Jr., 137 and John Sirois, 311. Marchand and Sirois will vie for this seat.

There was no primary in the Inchelium District 2 race.

The 14-member business council elects half its members one year and the other half the next year to two-year terms.


Reader Comments

Rendered 04/19/2018 12:59