The Star - News, views and advertising of the Grand Coulee Dam Area

Coulee Medical Center ER and Walk-In Care

Coulee Recollections - State B Champs 53 Years Ago

A look at the past


53 years ago - The Grand Coulee High School Tigers beat Ilwaco in the final game of the State B Basketball tournament 56-54. Team members included Ken Hoke, Bill Trefry, Wayne Snyder, Bob Pachosa, Don Kurth, Ray Rice, Mark Rauch, Ben Flowers, Jim Green and Terry Mort.They were coached by Jim Savitz. — March 1960

Ten Years Ago

Proposed cuts in the governor’s 2002 budget could lead to large changes in long-term health care in the Grand Coulee Dam area. “Bottom line is, whatever happens it will impact long-term health care the worst,” said Coulee Community Hospital Administrator Mike Wiltermood.

The U.S. Forest Service has gotten proficient at the logistics of handling large catastrophes, but work at Ground Zero was a logistical “nightmare...beyond my wildest dreams,” said Bobbie Scopa, a USFS fire management officer who worked there after the Sept. 11 catastrophe.

James E. Braun of Electric City recently joined the Navy for guaranteed training in the Machinery Repairman Program.

Elmer City reached an agreement last Thursday that will help pay for streets, buildings and sidewalks improvement. The town council approved a plan in which the town will pay $1 per resident to join Alliance 2005. Alliance 2005 is an independent committee that recommends uses for funds that come from the state to Okanogan County for economic development.

Mildred Venton poses with family during her 100th birthday celebration last Friday at CCH Nursing Home.

Twenty Years Ago

Joey Hendrickson, age 9, won a bet he made with his mom, that if he kept from eating sugar for an entire year she would give him $100.

Teachers from the Wright Elementary School staff expect to make a difference in some children’s lives with a new program recently initiated at their school. They are starting a Care Team.

The Raider basketball team is on track for a district title as they defeated Tonasket 74-55. High point were Shawn Garvin and Clint Comstock with 20 each.

Thirty Years Ago

Eric Sieger was chosen Cub Scout of the Year for Pack 24 and Marty Neal was the runner up.

The City of Grand Coulee passed Ordinance 63 which increases the speed limit from Interstate Junction of Highway 174 and 155 to the east city limits from 25 to 20 mph.

The first buttercup of the year was found last week in Delano by Elsie Strickert.

The Raider girls traveled to Omak for their second game of the District Playoffs to take on the Cashmere Bulldogs. The Raiders defeated them and now will play Okanogan for the District championship.

The Raider boys ended their season at District playoffs being defeated by Cashmere 80-53.

Mr. and Mrs. Gary Darnold are proud to announce the arrival of their daughter Lori Anne, born Feb. 13, at Coulee Community Hospital. She weighed 9 lbs. and was 21 inches long. She joins two brothers, Brian 3 and Steven 2.

Forty Years Ago

A Coulee Dam student at Eastern Washington State College, Roger M. Poch, and Sharon E. Bonner of Nespelem are among more than 142 students admitted to the EWSC professional education program.

The Almira Market celebrated its grand opening Feb. 20. The market has been completely remodeled.

Fifty Years Ago

The Grand Coulee Dam Jaycees will hold their regular meeting Feb. 26 at the Wildlife Cafe. Following the meeting there will be entertainment by the Eastmont Jaycees Jug and Bottle Band.

Mrs. Charles Mantooth, Mrs. Richard Behrens and Mrs. Ray Bottorff attended a Delta Kappa Gamma dinner meeting at Smitty’s Pancake House in Moses Lake Feb. 15.

A group of young people from Electric City and Grand Coulee attended a shower in Coeur D’ Alene, Idaho for Diane Mort.

Sixty Years Ago

A special meeting of the local Musician’s Union has been called for Friday evening at the Rose Room of the DeLuxe Hotel to ratify a new wage scale and bylaws. The meeting will be a no-host dinner session.

At the Tuesday evening meeting of the Coulee Dam branch of the American Red Cross, the following officers were elected: Duane Johnson, president; A.T. Thonstad, vice president; Mrs. R.P. Shirley, secretary; C. Bousquet treasurer and James Crawford, civil defense chairman.

You might be interested in:

Reader Comments

Rendered 05/24/2018 13:31